Learn: Faculty

Our Faculty

Your undergraduate classes are taught by world-renowned experts in their fields: leading scholars and active professionals who continue to explore new ideas, develop new technologies and contribute to the world’s store of knowledge. You will have the opportunity to discuss your ideas, receive feedback on your class projects, and be personally introduced to the worlds of high-level research and creativity.

USC faculty are winners of hundreds of academic and professional honors, including the PEN/Faulkner Award, the Pulitzer Prize, the Pritzker Architecture Prize, Academy, Emmy, and GRAMMY awards, and awards from the National Science Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities. Sixty-eight faculty are members of the prestigious National Academies, advisors to the nation on science, engineering, and medicine.

Other measures of our faculty’s intellectual clout include the amount of research funding they receive — $697 million annually — and their long list of life-changing inventions, celebrated books, prize-winning performances and TV news appearances.

"My faculty mentor, Dr. Megan McCain, has taught me to persevere and not be afraid ..."

—Celeste Goodwin, San Pedro, California


Nobel Prizes
Angus Deaton, James Heckman, George Olah, Daniel McFadden, Murray Gell-Mann, Arieh Warshel

Pulitzer Prize
Viet Thanh Nguyen, Gary Cohn, Michael Parks

MacArthur Fellowships
Luis Alfaro, Elyn Saks, Jacob Soll

National Medal of the Arts
Morten Lauridsen, Frank Gehry

National Humanities Medal
Kevin Starr

Emmy Award
Tom Abrams, Geoffrey Cowan

PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction
T.C. Boyle

National Science Foundation Career Award
Maja Mataric

National Academy of Sciences
16 Members

Institute of Medicine
17 Members

National Academy of Engineering
37 Members

American Association of the Advancement of Science
91 Members

American Academy of Arts & Sciences
35 Members

American Philosophical Society
6 Members

National Academy of Public Administration
11 Members